Skip to content
 

Online first aid and water safety sessions & activities now available

Lifeguarding equipment sitting on a beachThere may be some differences this swimming season - and please follow local distancing guidelines and rules when it comes to public water - but skills in water safety and first aid stay the same.

With that in mind, we are providing a series of online water safety sessions, Red Cross First Aid and Water Safety Tips for Families, to help keep your first aid skills strong this season.

Families are invited to join Canadian Red Cross volunteers for virtual, interactive, game-based learning sessions, highlighting the importance of first aid and water safety knowledge. 

Select a topic below to register for an online session:
 
Wednesday, August 5 1p.m. EST Lifejackets and other buoyant vests - are they safe? What you should know about staying safe, in, on and around the water
Friday, August 7 4p.m. EST First Aid Fridays! Prevention of choking - know the danger
Monday, August 10 1p.m. EST Summer Fun around the water - how to enjoy spray parks, wading pools in your community
Wednesday, August 12 1p.m. EST Backyard Pool Safety! Know the rules
Friday, August 14 1p.m. EST First Aid Fridays! A choking demo for you and your family
Monday, August 17 2p.m. EST Next Steps - you can be a Water Safety Instructor or a Lifeguard!
Wednesday, August 19 4p.m. EST Water Safety Reminders from Buckles!
Friday, August 21 2p.m. EST First Aid Fridays! A CPR demo for you and your family
Monday, August 24 1p.m. EST Stop! Ask! Go Slow!  A slogan for all ages!
Wednesday, August 26 1 p.m. EST Next Steps - you can be a Water Safety Instructor or a Lifeguard!
Friday, August 28 12 p.m. EST First Aid Fridays! Debunking First Aid Myths

Check out these fun activities to do with kids to help learn water safety skills; click on the activity to open:

Buckles colouring activity Buckles spot the differences activityBuckles test your knowledge activity


Related stories:
comments powered by Disqus