Summer 2024 – Prepared Together: Disaster Preparedness Virtual Learning Series

Amid an unprecedented level of intensity predicted for emergencies throughout the country in the spring and summer of 2024, the Canadian Red Cross is committed to supporting people and communities to prepare for, increase their resilience to, and respond to future disasters.

Register for our 2024 webinars below, and learn about how you can increase your own preparedness to face the next emergency. 

(FR) Be Ready - Extreme Heat

Tuesday July 2, 10-11AM MT / 12-1PM EST

Learn about the practical actions people can take to reduce their extreme heat risk, stay safe, and prepare.

Register

(EN) Protection Practices in Emergencies

Wednesday July 3, 11AM-12PM MT / 1-2PM EST 

Become familiar with practical approaches to addressing risks, and ensuring the safety, dignity, and inclusion of children, seniors, women and priority populations in the emergency context.
 

Register


(EN) Introduction to Psychological First Aid

Thursday July 4, 12-1PM MT / 2-3PM EST

Learn essential concepts to promote safety, calmness, efficacy, and hope while ensuring basic needs are met. This session also helps connect individuals to help and resources.

Register

 


(EN) Be Ready - Wildfires

Tuesday July 9, 10-11AM MT / 12-1PM EST

Do you know what to do in case of wildfires? Learn about the practical actions you can take to prepare for and reduce wildfire risk.

Register

(EN) Ready Rating

Wednesday July 10, 11-12PM MT / 1-2PM EST

Introduction to a free online emergency preparedness planning platform for businesses and organizations to improve emergency preparedness and response.

Register

(FR) Introduction to Psychological First Aid

Thursday July 11, 12-1PM MT / 2-3PM EST

Learn essential concepts to promote safety, calmness, efficacy, and hope while ensuring basic needs are met. This session also helps connect individuals to help and resources.

Register

(EN) Caring for Self and Others from an Indigenous Perspective

Tuesday July 16, 10-11:30 AM MT / 12-1:30 PM EST 

Learn about a wholistic approach to nurture physical, emotional, mental, and spiritual connections during times of stress, crisis, or trauma. Rooted in traditional knowledge and wisdom, participants will learn key principles and tools for self-care, while also building their knowledge on extending emotional and practical support to others in times of emergency. Caring for Self and Others is a core component of the Canadian Red Cross Psychological First Aid training.

Register

 


(FR) Be Ready - Wildfires

Thursday July 18, 10-11AM MT / 12-1PM EST

Do you know what to do in case of wildfires? Learn about the practical actions you can take to prepare for and reduce wildfire risk.

Register

(FR) Supporting Families in Emergencies

Tuesday July 23, 12-1PM MT / 2-3PM EST

Learn common post-emergency reactions from youth, how to help young people cope, and tips for supporting families during a crisis.

Register

(EN) Ready Rating 

Wednesday July 24, 12-1PM MT / 2-3PM EST

Introduction to a free online emergency preparedness planning platform for businesses and organizations to improve emergency preparedness and response.

Register

(EN) Be Ready - Extreme Heat 

Thursday July 25, 10-11AM MT / 12-1PM EST

Learn about the practical actions people can take to reduce their extreme heat risk, stay safe, and prepare in the case of a disaster or emergency.

Register

(FR) Protection Practices in Emergencies

Tuesday July 30, 12-1PM MT / 2-3PM EST

Become familiar with practical approaches to addressing risks, and ensuring the safety, dignity, and inclusion of children, seniors, women and priority populations in the emergency context.

Register
More sessions for this learning series will be added through September 2024! Email rrr@redcross.ca for inquiries. 

French and English closed captioning is available for all webinars.