Red Cross Announces Humanitarian Award Recipients

Topics: Saskatchewan
SASKATOON | January 26, 2017

The Canadian Red Cross is recognizing three extraordinary humanitarians in Saskatoon at the second annual Power of Humanity Luncheon in Saskatoon on April 26, 2017.

“These awards provide the Red Cross with an opportunity to recognize people who often work quietly behind the scenes to improve the lives of the most vulnerable in our community,” says Luncheon Committee Chair Brenda Thomsen.

The prestigious Humanitarian of the Year Award will be presented to Dr. Karim (Kay) and Mrs. Dora Nasser. The couple has been selected for their remarkable philanthropic and humanitarian efforts throughout the community. Many local organizations have benefited from their generosity, including hospitals, libraries, the arts and museums.  Both are proud alumni of the University of Saskatchewan and through their contributions over 500 students have received bursaries to pursue their studies at the University of Saskatchewan. Most recently, they have actively supported initiatives in aid of Syrian refugees in Canada and overseas.

The 2016 Young Humanitarian of the Year award will be presented to Ainsley Robertson who co-founded The Princess Shop in 2007. The Princess Shop creates an enhanced graduation experience for female students in need, and provides them with mentorship, support, and the tools to pursue success after graduation. Since its inception, The Princess Shop has assisted 756 young women across Saskatchewan in celebrating their graduations, fostered 60 mentor relationships and awarded $130,900 in scholarships. 

To participate as a sponsor or purchase tickets for the Power of Humanity Luncheon, contact the Red Cross office in Saskatoon, by calling 306-668-0720 or e-mailing
Section Widgets