Protection Legislation

NOTE: Though every effort is made to ensure the accuracy and timeliness of the information provided in these links, Canadian Red Cross takes no responsibility for the information or its source. Always contact your local government office or regulatory body to ensure you are in compliance with the latest legislation.

Provincial and territorial governments make laws in areas of their own jurisdiction, including providing victims' services. To date, six provinces (Alberta, Manitoba, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland and Labrador, and Saskatchewan) and two territories (Northwest Territories and Yukon) have proclaimed specific legislation on family violence: 



Newfoundland and Labrador

Northwest Territories

Nova Scotia


Prince Edward Island


Yukon Territory